PROJECT
TEAM
IMAGES
DATES
PUBLICATIONS

OUFTI-1 : launch is imminent

OUFTI-1, the satellite created by students in Liège, will be launched by the doyenne of rockets – Soyuz – from the Kourou base (in French Guiana) on 22 April 2016 at 23:02 (Belgian time). A satellite of CubeSat type, it will serve as a relay in space for amateur-radio (“ham”) operators using the worldwide D-STAR digital telecommunication system.

 

The idea for the Liège CubeSat was born on Tuesday 18 September 2007 during a telephone conversation between Luc Halbach, an amateur-radio operator and engineer at Spacebel, and Professor Jacques G. Verly of the Faculty of Applied Sciences (School of Engineering) of the University of Liège (Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science or “Institut Montefiore” – Laboratory for Signal and Image Exploitation), also a ham-radio operator. They were soon joined by Professor Gaëtan Kerschen (Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering). At that time, ham-radio operators were beginning to use a sophisticated technology for digital telecommunications known as D-STAR, but the worldwide D-STAR system did not yet have a relay satellite, a very useful device when there are no terrestrial relays or they have been destroyed, e.g. during natural catastrophes. Providing such a relay is one of the missions of OUFTI-1!

 

OUFTI twin

CubeSats

CubeSats are nanosatellites, the concept of which was developed at the start of the 2000s by Stanford University, California, in collaboration with California State Polytechnic University (“Cal Poly”); their basic structure is a cube with sides of 10 cm, their weight is limited to around 1 kg, and their available power is on the order of 1 watt. Above all, they are designed, built, and tested, not by large space agencies such as ESA and NASA, or by flagship companies of the space industry, but most often by students.

cubesat

OUFTI the educator

Named OUFTI (Orbital Utility For Telecommunication Innovations) in 2008 at the suggestions of Prof. Verly in reference to a colorful expression of Liège indicating both surprise and admiration (i.e. “waow”), Liège’s CubeSat was designed from the beginning as a formidable pedagogical tool, bringing together students from from the University of Liège (ULg) and higher education institutions of the Province of Liège. In its 8 and one half years of existence – and it’s not the end yet! – the project has enjoyed the involvement of dozens of students and has inspired no less than 45 master theses. The different components of the satellite were designed and then assembled by the students before being subjected to rigorous tests, at the Centre spatial de Liège (CSL) of the University of Liège and at the European Space Research and Technology Center (ESTEC) of the European Space Agency (ESA), which both also provided significant advice. The day-to-day management of the project was ensured, first by Amandine Denis (Department of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering), from the early days of the project until the end of June 2014, and then by Xavier Werner (Institut Montefiore) to this day. Sébastien De Dijcker (Institut Montefiore) and Valéry Broun (HEPL) also played key roles, in particular in the completion of the ground and space segments of the OUFTI-1 system.

OUFTI-1 misions

The Liège satellite will be placed in an elliptical orbit, inclined at 98°, at an altitude of between 450 and 660 km. It should have a life duration of around 2 years.

In addition to its pedagogical role, it will fulfill 2 missions.

The first is to serve as a space relay for amateur-radio operators using D-STAR. This is a digital technology developed in 2001 by the Japanese Amateur Radio League, making it possible to transmit voice and data digitally and simultaneously. These communications can be conducted, not only by radio, but also via the Internet, one of the remarkable advantages of the D-STAR. Such communications are evidently only possible if the ham operators are close to a relay or connected to the web, which is not necessarily the case in areas that are difficult to access or that are isolated following a natural catastrophe for example. Hence the usefulness of a satellite that is efficient and inexpensive and that can relay critical communications. To fulfill this role, OUFTI-1 contains a relay – fully homemade – that had to be miniaturized and adapted to the extreme conditions of space, the two main challenges of the project.

To become familiar with D-STAR technology and in preparation for the radio-communications with the satellite, the ULg quickly installed – as soon as 2008 – the first Belgian terrestrial repeater (connected to the Internet) of the worldwide D-STAR system, operational first at Institut Montefiore and then at the Central Command Post of the ULg.

OUFTI-EARTH

The student have built not only a satellite, but also two complete satellite ground stations, located at Institut Montefiore and at the Central Command Post, closely linked to the terrestrial D-STAR repeater.

The second mission is to test the behavior of the solar cells of the satellite, very peculiar cells because they have a higher yield than our usual photovoltaic cells (30% as opposed to the usual 15%).

LE PROJET
L’EQUIPE
LES IMAGES
LES DATES
PUBLICATIONS

OUFTI-1, lancement réussi !

OUFTI-1, le satellite réalisé par des étudiants liégeois, a été lancé par la doyenne des fusées – Soyouz – depuis la base de Kourou (en Guyane française) le 25 avril 2016 à 18h02 (heure locale, soit 23h02 en Belgique). Ses premiers signaux ont été captés dans les 24 heures qui ont suivi. Satellite de type CubeSat, il servira de relais dans l’espace pour les radioamateurs utilisant le système de télécommunication numérique D-STAR mondial.

L’idée du CubeSat liégeois naît le mardi 18 septembre 2007 lors d’un entretien téléphonique entre Luc Halbach, radioamateur et ingénieur chez Spacebel, et le professeur Jacques Verly de la Faculté des Sciences appliquées de l’Université de Liège (Département d’électricité, électronique et informatique ou Institut Montefiore – Laboratoire d’exploitation des signaux et images), aussi radioamateur. Ils sont bientôt rejoints par le professeur Gaëtan Kerschen (Département d’aérospatiale et mécanique). A cette époque, les radioamateurs commencent à utiliser une technologie de télécommunication numérique sophistiquée appelée D-STAR, mais le système D-STAR mondial ne possède pas encore de satellite relais, pourtant bien utile lorsque les relais terrestres font défaut ou ont été détruits, par exemple lors de catastrophes naturelles. Fournir un tel relais est une mission de OUFTI-1 !

 

OUFTI twin

Les CubeSat

Les CubeSat sont des nanosatellites dont le concept a été développé au début des années 2000 par la Stanford University (en Californie), en collaboration avec la California State Polytechnic University (« Cal Poly ») ; leur structure de base est un cube de 10 cm de côté, leur poids limité à environ 1 kg et leur puissance disponible de l’ordre de 1 watt. Et surtout, ils sont conçus, construits  et testés non par des grandes agences spatiales comme l’ESA et la NASA, ou par des entreprises phares du secteur spatial, mais le plus souvent par des étudiants.

cubesat

OUFTI-1 le pédagogue

Dénommé OUFTI (Orbital Utility For Telecommunication Innovations) en 2008 à la suggestion du Pr. Verly en référence à une savoureuse expression de Liège marquant à la fois la surprise et l’admiration, le CubeSat liégeois a été dès le départ conçu comme un formidable instrument pédagogique, fédérant des étudiants de l’Université de Liège (ULg) et de hautes écoles de la Province de Liège. En 8 ans et demi d’existence – et ce n’est pas fini ! – le projet a vu défiler plusieurs dizaines d’étudiants et a donné lieu à la réalisation de pas moins de 45 travaux de fin d’étude (thèses de Master). Les différents composants du satellite ont été conçus puis assemblés par eux avant d’être soumis à des tests sévères, au Centre spatial de Liège (CSL) de l’ULg et au Centre de Recherche et de Technologie spatiales (ESTEC) de l’Agence spatiale européenne (ESA), lesquels ont aussi prodigué d’importants conseils. Le projet a été géré au quotidien par Amandine Denis (Département d’aérospatiale et mécanique) jusque fin juin 2014, et ensuite par Xavier Werner (Institut Montefiore) jusqu’à ce jour. Sébastien De Dijcker (Institut Montefiore) et Valéry Broun (HEPL) ont aussi joué des rôles clés, notamment dans la finalisation des segments espace et sol du système OUFTI-1.

Les missions de OUFTI-1

Le satellite liégeois sera placé sur une orbite elliptique inclinée de 98°, à une altitude comprise entre 450 et 660 km. Il devrait avoir une durée de vie d’environ deux ans.

Outre son rôle pédagogique, il devra remplir deux missions.

La première est de servir de relais spatial aux radioamateurs utilisant le D-STAR. Il s’agit d’une technologie numérique développée en 2001 par la Japanese Amateur Radio League, permettant de transmettre de la voix et des données numériquement et simultanément. Ces communications peuvent être réalisées, non seulement par radio, mais également par Internet, un des avantages remarquables du D-STAR. De telles communications ne sont évidemment possibles que si les radioamateurs sont proches d’un relais ou connectés au web. Ce qui n’est pas nécessairement le cas dans des zones difficiles d’accès ou isolées à la suite d’une catastrophe naturelle par exemple. D’où l’utilité d’un satellite performant et peu coûteux qui peut relayer les communications critiques. Pour remplir ce rôle, OUFTI-1 contient un relais – entièrement fait maison – qu’il a fallu miniaturiser et adapter aux conditions extrêmes de l’espace, les deux principaux challenges du projet.

Pour se familiariser avec la technologie D-STAR et en prévision des liaisons radio avec le satellite, l’ULg s’est rapidement dotée – dès 2008 – du premier relais terrestre belge (connecté à l’Internet) du système D-STAR mondial, opérationnel d’abord à l’Institut Montefiore et ensuite au Poste central de commande de l’ULg.

Les étudiants ont non seulement construit un satellite, mais aussi deux stations-sols pour satellite complètes, situées à l’Institut Montefiore et au Poste central de commande, étroitement couplées au relais terrestre D-STAR.

La deuxième mission est le test du comportement des cellules solaires du satellite, cellules particulières puisqu’elles ont un rendement plus élevé que nos habituelles cellules photovoltaïques (30% contre environ 15% habituellement).

Les chiffres

  • Fréquences du satellite (longueur d’onde) sont 145 MHz et 435 Mhz (2m et 70 cm)
  • Vitesse du satellite :  28.000 km/h
  • L’inclinaison de l’orbite par rapport à l’équateur : 98 degrés (orbite quasi-polaire)
  • Durée de vie liée à l’orbite (ré-entrée atmosphérique) :  +-20 ans . La durée de vie liée aux composants électroniques (limitée par les radiations) est de quelques années.
  • Taille des antennes : 50 cm et de 17 cm
  • Révolution autour de la Terre : un peu plus d’1h30

Les dimensions

  • OUFTI-1 est un cube de 10 cm de côté.
  • Sentinel 1B a une hauteur de 4 m.
  • Soyuz a une hauteur de 50 m.

Les distances

  • Altitude par rapport à la Terre :  de 450 km à 660 km (orbite elliptique).
  • Rayon de la terre : 6.750 km
  • Distance Terre-Lune : 380.000 km
  • Altitude de OUFTI-1 par rapport à la Terre :  de 450 km à 660 km (orbite elliptique).